Plotting & Planning

This year, I will be participating in NaNoWriMo.  If you’ve never heard of NaNoWriMo, it nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_participant-150stands for National Novel Writing Month.  The month of November is dedicated to writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. There are thousands of us crazies who participate.

Crazy, right?

During NaNoWriMo, I will be attempting my first middle grade novel.  It’s about my 9th great-aunt, Mary Bliss Parsons, accused witch.  You can read my post about her here.  I’m bringing her into the present!

There are apparently two types of writers, planners and pantsers.  I’m a planner.  I like lists, outlines and notebooks full of research.  I don’t think I’m creative enough to be a pantser, flying by the seat of my pants.

I like need organization.  This summer I read a great book called The Plot Whisperer, by plot-whisperMartha Alderson.   It’s a great resource for developing a plot for your story.   Ms. Alderson’s book covers the basic plot line as well as digging into the development of your characters, your setting, the crisis and climax.  The technique she outlines for plotting really helped me visualize my story.

 

I’ve still got a little bit of planning to do this week, but for the most part, I’m going to give it my all starting November 1.  Hopefully, my family that will be plot-charthere for Thanksgiving dinner will understand when I take a plate and head to my office!

Here is my planning so far.  That and a spiral full of research on Mary Bliss!

 

I’d appreciate some prayer or good vibes, whichever you subscribe to, on Thursday.  I will be pitching my first picture book, Adventure in the Library.  I received great feedback and positive reviews from some trusted editors and readers.  I am so excited (and a lot little scared) for publishers and agents to read my work.  I’ve also got several other picture books I’m working on.  It’s amazing the amount of work that goes into a little picture book for kids!

Anyway, I hope you are doing what ever your passion is!

~Julie

 

Leave a Reply

