NaNoWriMo

Ok, I’m jumping into the deep end!  NaNoWriMo starts today and I’m going to use this focused time to write a middle grade novel that has been spinning in my head for a while now.

If you aren’t familiar with NaNoWriMo, it stands for National Novel Writing Month.  It takes place every November and in order to “win” you have to write 50,000 words.  The average length of a novel.  There aren’t really any actual prizes, it is a personal challenge.  (They do offer some discount codes if you reach your goal)

This is my first year participating, although I did participate in the “Summer Camp” they had this summer.  I’m ashamed to report, I didn’t make the word count.  I found it difficult juggling household and kid duties with making time to write.  But, the teen people who live in my house are now back in school, so other than periodically rewashing changing the laundry, I’ve got almost all day!  Wahoo!

My novel this month is a middle grade fantasy about a girl who finds out that the members of her family are charged with the care of the imaginary creatures in their region and it is time that she learns the family business.  As I get a couple of thousand words in, I will post blurbs here for some feedback.

If you are participating in NaNo, let me know!  You can add me as a writing buddy!  My user name there is julie1967.

Happy writing!!

Julie

Leave a Reply

