Max

Had to post about my little Max, the havanese, today.  It’s his one year anniversary with us.  On December 23, 2015, we drove to Abilene, Texas to meet the director of Pawed Squad Rescue to pick up this little hoarding/mill situation.  max He was a scared, untrusting little ball of fur.  He had rarely been handled by humans.

His name was Chewy, short for Chewbacca.  Yes, he looked a little like a wookie, but we already had another havanese rescued from the year before from the same hoarding/mill situation and her name was Ruby.  The teacher, mom, picture book writer in me immediately new we  HAD to change his name to Max.  As in Max & Ruby!img_5358  Then we found out that they were half siblings!  They have the same mother!  What is so funny, is that Ruby is large for a havanese, she’s a whopping 25 pounds yet Max is a tiny 11 pounds.

Before we adopted Ruby, I had never heard of a Havanese.  I use to show my border collie and the Havanese was totally new to me.  They are the official dog breed of Cuba.  They came to this country with refugees and had to be snuck out of Cuba.  They are bred to be companion dogs and make wonderful therapy and support dogs.  They tend to bond to one person and are often called “Velcro” dogs.  I can attest to that as I am sitting here with both dogs in my lap!  I can not go anywhere in the house without them following.  I thought that when my kids were finally old enough that they didn’t follow me into the bathroom, I now have dogs that sit and stare at me!  If you are considering a dog and need a small, hypoallergenic/non-shedding dog, take a look at a Havanese.  (They have hair and don’t shed, but require very frequent combing!)

img_5354Back to Max.  He has grown in to a funny little comedian.  He loves to sleep on the back of the couch if he isn’t next to me.  He also prefers to play with toys by himself.  He will hide toys so that Ruby can’t play with them.  Max will take a toy in his mouth, fling his head upward and throw the toy for himself.  He will then stalk it and POUNCE on it like he is hunting.  It’s he funniest thing to watch!  He also “talks” to us.  When we get out of bed in the morning, he sits by the bedroom door and makes this loud “Rrrrrrrrrooooo” that gets really high-pitched.  Then he spins in circles.  If you mention eating, say the word hungry, or treat, he goes nuts spinning in circles and barking.  This little fur ball is always hungry!

Anyway, if you are looking for a pet, please look into rescuing.  There are many rescue organizations and shelters.  Some of my favorites are…

Pawed Squad

HALO (Havanese Angel League Organization)

Havanese Rescue

R&R Sanctuary

Leave a Reply

