12 Days of Christmas

How many times have we all sat down and made a list of “resolutions” we were going to accomplish in the new year.  Most resolutions are based on a negative…

*I’m going to loose ____ pounds translates to “I’m fat”

*I’m going to exercise translates to “I’m lazy”

*I’m going to make more money translates to “I’m poor”

When put this way, most people fail at achieving their resolutions.  I know that I have a history of failing to complete my resolutions.

Children’s author Julie Hedlund, challenged participants of her 12 Days of Christmas for Writers series to post SUCCESSES (rather than resolutions) on our blogs this year. 61fd46af-d141-4b56-b1ad-c37cd5f6572dShe believes the way New Year’s resolutions are traditionally made come from a place of negativity – what DIDN’T get done or achieved in the previous year.  Instead, she suggests we set goals for the New Year that BUILD on our achievements from the previous one. I decided to participate in this Anti-Resolution Revolution!

Here is my list for 2016.

  1.  I received incredibly positive feedback from a group of published authors on my first manuscript.
  2. I was brave enough to have other professional writers  read and critique my writing.
  3. I joined SCBWI
  4. Joined an active critique group.
  5. Finally told family and friends that I am working at becoming a published author.
  6. Participated in several writing contests.
  7. Participated in PBPitch.
  8. I created this blog and joined other social media platforms.
  9. Participated in several writing webinars.
  10. I committed to treating writing as my job.
Leave a Reply

