I’m Back!

I apologize for being MIA for the last month or so.  Things in the LaCombe Maison (house) have been wild.

It all started with school getting out in May.  Who can work with 2 teen girls demanding your attention?  I must admit though, I love having them home.  They have turned into pretty cool human beings and we did have some fun.

June found us meeting up with family in San Antonio.   I literally had my last stand at the Alamo.  I tripped off of the curb and fractured my ankle.  BUT, being the martyr I am, I pushed on and walked the River Walk and Market and was OK until I sat down and it had time to swell.  Here we are, two months later, and my ankle still hurts.  I should have listened to my smart hubby and gone to the doctor sooner.

July found me traveling with my girls to Houston for my father’s heart surgery.  Thankfully it was a minor procedure (as minor as them placing something in your heart can be) and he was home in 24 hours and is continuing to do well.

Here we are now at the beginning of August and school is back in sight.  I’m sad that my girls will be heading back to school, but am looking forward to having some uninterrupted time to devote to my writing and blog.

So, for my first post back, I’m leaving you with the review and master study of a book that I picked up in Houston.  Noah Webster’s Fighting Words by Tracy Nelson Maurer is a funny and educational peek at how the famous dictionary came to be.  I give this noah websterpicture book two thumbs up.  If I were still teaching American History, I’d use this in my classroom, even the eighth graders would love it.  It has a great hook and Mr. Noah Webster himself  leaves comments.  It is thoroughly researched and has a full bibliography.

From Lerner Publishing:

Noah Webster, famous for writing the first dictionary of the English language as spoken in the United States, was known in his day for his bold ideas and strong opinions about, well, everything. Spelling, politics, laws, you name it—he had something to say about it. He even commented on his own opinions! With a red pencil in hand, Noah often marked up work that he had already published. So who edited this book? It certainly looks like the ghost of the great American author and patriot picked up a pencil once again to comment on his own biography!

Here’s a link to my Master Study sheet for Noah Webster’s Fighting Words.

Noah Webster fighting words

Leave a Reply

